Proper. - The Suburbs Have Ruined My Life Great Wight



Brooklyn, NY, trio Proper, formed in 2016 originally as Great Wight, made a name for themselves early on in East Coast DIY emo punk circles and in Europe with their debut album The Suburbs Have Ruined My Life.

A collection of songs originally written over several years by guitarist and vocalist Erik Garlington, the twelve-track release is given new life through bassist Natasha Johnson and drummer Elijah Watson. However, what has remained constant and is the centerpiece of Suburbs is Garlington's lyrics, which tell the story of a black and queer adolescent navigating the Bible Belt and ultimately making his way to New York.

If you want to be cool and have their old stuff you can get it here


  1. Curtain's Up! It's Showtime
  2. Germany, 1991
  3. The American Way
  4. Not Black Enough
  5. Dear
  6. Starring Michael Fassbender
  7. 2010 Was a Bad Year (Albert's Song)
  8. The Suburbs Have Ruined My Life
  9. It Turns Out There Aren t Many Perks of Being a Wallflower
  10. Red State Blues, Pt. I The Problem
  11. Red State Blues, Pt. II The Solution
  12. The Come Up
Pressing Information

Tapes: 50 opaque pink, 50 opaque blue
Tape and CD orders ship approximately 3/20/19

Vinyl: First press 200 Black
Vinyl orders ship approximately 6/1/19